Honey-Balsamic Vinaigrette

Now that I’m an adult, on the cusp of independence, I have decided that I should probably start thinking about my health.  I will never give up dessert, of course–I just mean that I should be a bit more conscious about consuming things that will help me to live to be 105 (this has always been my goal.  It seems like a good age).  So I’m going to make an effort to bike and walk more (my mom wants me to run. I do not want to run.  I should probably run) and to incorporate more healthy things into my diet.  And what’s healthier than a salad?

Once in a while I’ve made myself salads for lunch, using a dressing of olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  While good, this combination never tasted as nice as the salads I would eat at my dad’s restaurant (fancy that).  So I asked him, and he told me that the secret was honey-balsamic vinaigrette.  He was right–the vinaigrette provides just the right combination of salty and sweet to pull the salad together into healthy perfection.  I drizzled a tablespoon of it onto a salad of mixed greens, avocado and sauteed vegetables, packed it in my lunchbox, and ate a restaurant-worthy meal in my high school cafeteria.

So, you will need….

  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Place all the ingredients in a jar and stir thoroughly.  Drizzle over salad for use.  Can be stored in the refrigerator for up to two months.  Enjoy!

img_4245

store in a cute jar and take awkward selfie

 

img_4247

Drizzle over greens and revel in the healthiness

Leave a Reply

